Poll on How the Shutdown Affects Religious Groups

After reading about how the Government Shutdown has affected religious groups I decided to ask people about this topic. I asked 10 people simply if they thought the government shutdown has been affecting religious groups. 5 out of the 10 said yes and 5 out of the 10 said no. I then asked if they thought the government shutdown could affect religious weddings. 7 out of 10 said yes, 3 out of 10 said no. I then asked if they knew about the church bus accident that killed 8 people in Tennessee. 10 out of 10 said no. I asked if they thought the government shutdown would affect charitable services operated by religious groups. 9 out of 10 said yes. I then asked if they thought the Government shutdown would affect military chaplains. 3 out of 10 said yes. Through asking these questions I learned that people, like me, before looking into this matter, did not know that much about what the Government shutdown was affecting when it comes to religious aspects. I had no idea the government shutdown would affect weddings and the rescheduling of them. I had no idea that a church bus accident would not be investigated because of the shutdown, which seems crazy to me. There is just so much to this shutdown that never crossed my mind. Or the minds of others as we can see from the poll I took. I have learned so much from this class, and the ways that the government affects religion as well as the ways that religions affect politics. I think it would be good for everyone to be curious about these topics and look into them. People need to know what is going on in the country that they live in and how things could potentially affect them. 

Leave a Reply

